Work together as gladiators — Vice President tells new Legal Service Board

The Vice President administered the official oath and the Oath of Secrecy.

Is allowance instantly strangers applauded

A 9-Member Board of the Legal Service has been sworn into office with a charge on them to spearhead the establishment of an efficient, reputable and well-motivated legal architecture in Ghana.

The Vice President, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia who inaugurated the board noted that Ghana cannot afford to have a legal service that is made up of people whose competence and diligence to work are in doubt.

The Legal Service Board serves as an advisor to the President on matters connected with the structure and conduct of the affairs of the Service in relation to the recruitment, appointment, promotion, discipline, dismissal and any other conditions of service of officers in the Service.

Vice President Bawumia asked the Board to work together as gladiators to lead the legal service in carrying out its statutory responsibilities. They should also help create and sustain a reputable legal system which will enhance speedy and affordable access to justice for Ghanaians.

“The Presidency is looking forward to receiving the advice of the board in relation to its core duties,” he said.

Chairman of the Legal Service Board who also doubles as the Minister of Justice and Attorney General, Godfred Yeboah Dame, on behalf of the Board assured the Vice President that they would work to prove themselves equal to the task entrusted to them by the state.

The Vice President administered the official oath and the Oath of Secrecy.

The Board is chaired by the Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Godfred Yeboah Dame.

The other members are Ms. Helen Akpene Awo Ziwu, the Solicitor-General; Justice Jones Dotse, Justice of the Supreme Court; Dr. Janet Ampadu Fofie, Chairperson of the Public Services Commission; Kwaku Gyau, Representative of the Ghana Bar Association; Daniel Kwaku Tweneboah Asirifi, and Mrs. Sylvia Assimeng Archer, both of whom are nominees of the President.