Suspension of Russia from UN Human Right Council: Ghana abstains from voting

Ghana joined a group of countries to back a resolution in February to condemn the Invasion of Ukraine by Russia thus calling on the Kremlin to withdraw its troops from Ukraine.

Is allowance instantly strangers applauded

Ghana abstained on Thursday, April 7, 20222 from a vote at the UN General Assembly which culminated in Russia’s suspension from the Human Rights Council of the World Body.

The resolution, which was initiated by the United States noted with concern the human rights and humanitarian crisis in Ukraine.

Also, the discovery of civilian bodies in Bucha near Kyiv, the Ukrainian capital, triggered the above process.

In all, 93 countries voted in favor and 24 against the resolution while 58 states abstained from voting.

On Thursday, February 24, 2022, Russia launched an attack on Ukrainian cities and military installations after Vladimir Putin defied international condemnations and likely sanctions.

In a state broadcast, the Russian leader warned that any country that would interfere will be faced with immediate consequences it had never seen before.

According to reports, big explosions were heard at dawn at Kyiv, Kharkiv, and Odesa. World Leaders have condemned this invasion describing it as an attack that could have debilitating effects on Ukrainians amidst its effects on the country’s democratically elected government.

After this, Ghana joined a group of countries to back a resolution in February to condemn the Invasion of Ukraine by Russia thus calling on the Kremlin to withdraw its troops from Ukraine.

That resolution was however vetoed by Russia after being voted upon by 11 member states with the likes of China, India, UAE abstaining.

At the General Assembly on April 7, 2022, the 93 countries below were captured as those who voted in favor of the resolution.

Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria,

 Bahamas, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, 

Canada, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Costa Riva, Cote D’Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, 

The Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, 

Ecuador, Estonia, 

Fiji, Finland, France,

Georgia, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala,

Haiti, Honduras, Hungary,

Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy,

Jamaica, Japan, 


Latvia, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, 

Malawi, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Monaco, Montenegro, Myanmar, 

Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Norway, 

Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, 

Republic of Korea (South Korea), Republic of Moldova, Romania, 

Saint Lucia, Samoa, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland,

Timor-Leste, Tonga, Turkey, Tuvalu, 

Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay.

The following are the countries that voted against the resolution;

Algeria, Belarus, Bolivia, Burundi, Central African Republic, China, Congo, Cuba, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (North Korea), Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Mali, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, and Zimbabwe

However, for the following countries they abstained from the voting process;

Angola, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bhutan, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Egypt, El Salvador, Eswatini, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malaysia, Maldives, Mexico, Mongolia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Singapore, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Tanzania, Thailand, Tongo, Trinidad-Tobago, Tunisia, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Vanuatu, Yemen

Russia has meanwhile announced its exit from the Human Rights Council.